Calix Blog  

New Calix Cloud and Premises Marketing Leader Looks Ahead to the IoT Future: Q&A with Pam Ferguson

by Calix Employee Thursday

LinkedIN_ferguson.jpg

Last month, Pam Ferguson joined the Calix marketing team as area vice president for premises and cloud solutions. With an extensive background in software and IoT, from both a vendor and service provider perspective (including some of the largest operators in Canada), Pam will bring her wealth of expertise to driving our mission of finding the best way to connect the device-enabled subscriber and the cloud-enhanced Internet of Everything.

I recently spoke to Pam to get her views on the market and some insight on her future at Calix.

Matt: Welcome to Calix, Pam! Tell me a little about yourself and your background prior to joining us.

Pam: My journey to Calix has been an interesting one. I graduated in the middle of the Dot.com boom in Vancouver and had the pleasure of working for a variety of software companies through the ‘90s. Then as mobile applications started to appear on the scene, I led business development and marketing for a dispatch application (Quite frankly – well before the mobile devices and networks were really ready for it.) From there, I consulted for a few years in Europe before returning to Canada to join Rogers and then TELUS where I built their respective IoT practices focused on product management and product marketing – followed by the solution sales teams from the ground up. The overarching theme of my career has been building new revenue streams and the supporting teams.

Matt: What drew you to Calix and what role will you now be playing as part of the Calix team?

Pam: Calix was intriguing to me for three reasons:

• Service providers all want to participate in IoT, but they are stumbling around HOW to participate… and I think Calix can truly help them figure that out.